Red Flag over Nashik as Farmers begin rally for CPI (M)’s JP Gavit

Written by SabrangIndia | Published on: April 20, 2019

Maharashtra is all set to witness yet another long march. As many as 5000 or more farmers from Nashik district have begun a march today, April 20. It’s for the third time that the farmers of the region are walking. While on the previous occasions, the marches were around their demands of tacking the drought situation, Minimum Support Prices, restoration of forest lands to tribals and several such, this time they are marching for their beloved leader JP Gavit.

Image result for JP Gavit.
Image Courtesy:



JP Gavit was crucial in organising the long marches the last two times and infused the long treacherous journeys with his vigour and enthusiasm. This time, the farmers are marching for him across 20 or more villages in a three-day tour.

Gavit, the sitting MLA from Kalvan constituency and a veteran CPI (M) leader, is contesting from the Dindori constituency which covers nine talukas and 4500 villages and is dominated by farmers and Adivasis.

The people, who have left their homes and hearths for three days, armed with food packets, water and clothing, will halt at various places on the roads till April 21, covering an average of six villages each day. As the farmers are marching, the red flag can be seen waving even as the sun shines ablaze in the summer afternoons.

See SabrangIndia’s detailed appeal here

Same as the successful doorstep ration scheme campaign, the farmers are going from one door to another distributing pamphlets and requesting people to vote for Gavit.

The farmers believe that Gavit’s victory will help amplify their voices to reach Dilli.

The farmers camped at Nagarsul village on Friday night, almost 80km from Dindori rally. On their schedule for Saturday are six villages of Nagarsul, Rajapur, Nandgaon, Kalandari, Ningaon, and Manmad.

On Sunday, they will cover five other villages of Dugaon, Chandwad, Umranu, Deola, and Kalwan.

Dindori will witness the Lok Sabha elections on April 29, in the fourth phase of the polls. As many as 17 lakh voters are expected to vote. The constituency is currently held by BJP. Gavit will be facing NCP MLA Dhanraj Mahale and BJP’s Bharti Pawar, both recent entrants in their respective parties.

Shuba Shamim, CPI(M) leader and the party’s media coordinator told MumbaiMirror, “We started the campaign with farmers at Dindori. By the time we reached Ozar, the numbers had increased. At Pimpalgaon Zilla Parishad, members of the party welcomed us in huge numbers. At Nifad, many agitated pensioners who are fighting with the Employees Provident Fund body joined us and pledged their support.”

You can also support his cause by crowdfunding his campaign