'Progressives' trounce 'Pro-Administration' faction in JNUTA elections

Written by Sabrangindia Staff | Published on: February 1, 2018
After intense election drama that led to the emergence of two factions within the Jawahar Lal Nehru Teachers’ Association (JNUTA), the verdict it out, and it looks like a decisive victory for the ‘progressive’ group as opposed to the group that was seen as ‘pro-administration’.

Prof. Sonajharia Minz of the School of Computer and Systems Sciences won the President’s post with a landslide. Minz won 344 votes as opposed to 195 by Dr. Srinivas Rao of the School of Social Sciences. Prof. Devendra Kumar Choubey (324) and Prof. Partho Dutta (301) won the two Vice President seats defeating Dr. Arvind Mishra (215) and Dr. Jitendra Uttam (203).
Other results as follows:
Dr. Sudhir Kumar Suthar (315)
Dr. Dipen (221)
Joint Secretary
Dr. Archana Negi (336)
Dr. Ghazala Jamil (308)
Dr. Anil Kumar Singh (205)
Dr. Sheetal (198)
Dr. Rakesh Kumar (316)
Dr. Tulika (212)
Ever since M Jagadesh Kumar took over as vice chancellor of the prestigious university, there have been hostilities between JNUTA and the administration on various issues, especially appointment of dean of School of Social Sciences and removal of Prof Nivedita Menon from chairpersonship of the Centre for Comparative Politics and Political Theory (CCPT).