MLA killed, EC convoy attacked in Arunachal Pradesh

Written by SabrangIndia | Published on: May 21, 2019
In a shocking incident, Arunachal Pradesh MLA Tiron Aboh and 10 others were killed allegedly by members of NSCN (IM) today. Aboh, who belonged to the National People’s Party (NPP) had earlier received death threats.

His motorcade, which also included a car driven by his son, was attacked near the Bogapani area, 260 kilometers from the state capital of Itanagar, when they were returning from Assam. Aboh’s son was also killed in the attack.

Meghalay Chief Minister Conrad Sangma who leads the NPP condemned the attack tweeting,“The NPP is extremely shocked and saddened by the news of the death of its MLA Shri Tirong Aboh (Arunachal Pradesh) and his family. We condemn the brutal attack and urge @rajnathsingh and @PMOIndia to take action against those responsible for such attack.”

But this wasn’t the first act of impunity in the state. Earlier in the day an Election Commission convoy was attacked by 500 masked men in the Kurung Kumey district. The EC team accompanied by CRPF personnel was on its way to the Nampe polling station where repolling was scheduled in the Koloriang constituency.

Nampe sector magistrate Rido Tarak who filed the FIR, told Arunachal Times, “The miscreants ambushed the team around 5 pm. They indiscriminately fired several rounds of bullets with sophisticated weapons, which included AK-47 assault rifles.” But the CRPF personnel did not fire back fearing casualties. The polling team was then forced to surrender the EVMs. The EC then sent an alternative team from a different route to the polling station to ensure that repolling took place without any delay.