Thousands of students and teachers expected to rally in Delhi to demand education for all

All India Shiksha Hunkaar Rally, Delhi, 18th February 2019

17 Feb 2018
All India Shiksha Hunkaar Rally, Delhi, 18th February 2019 
Dear Editor/Correspondent,

The All-India Forum for Right to Education (AIFRTE), a federal platform of more than 75 students’ & teachers’ organisations and educational rights groups drawn from 22 states, is organizing a full-day All India Shiksha Hunkaar Rally in Delhi on 18th Feb 2019 (Monday) in which thousands of people from across the country will participate. We take this opportunity to invite you to provide coverage to the programme in your esteemed newspaper/channel. The details of the programme are provided below:

  1. Protest Demonstration at Sansad Marg (Parliament Street, Near Police Station) from 10 am to 12:30 pm. The demonstration will be addressed by Prakash Ambedkar (M.P.); Prof. B. Mungekar, Member (Education), Manifesto Committee, Indian National Congress; D. Raja, (CPI); Brinda Karat (CPI-M); Kavita Krishnan, CPI-ML (Liberation); N. Ramachandran, CPI-ML (Red Star), Dr. Mrigank, CPI-ML (New Democracy); Prof Manoj Jha (Spokesperson, RJD); Prof. Prem Singh, Socialist Party (India); Aflatoon, Samajwadi Jan Parishad; & Adv. Ashok Agrawal, Social Jurist (Delhi High Court), apart from AIFRTE Presidium Members Prof. Anil Sadgopal and Prof. G. Haragopal.  
  2. Jan Sansad (People’s Parliament) at Ambedkar Bhawan (Rani Jhansi Road) from 2 pm onwards to be inaugurated by the noted journalist Ravish Kumar (NDTV)and presided by Prof. Prabhat Patnaik(Emeritus Professor, JNU).It will be followed by an evening of Cultural Resistance to the anti-Constitutional education policy. The Jan Sansad will be also addressed by Sh. Rajendra Kumar Gautam (Delhi Minister for Social Justice & fighter for equality & social justice) and Kanhaiya Kumar, the reputed student leader from JNU.  
  3. Referendum on Education – People from across the country are bringing 8-point Ballot Papers (attached herewith) in huge numbers for a referendum on education policy (VOTE FOR EDUCATION) to be submitted to a Referendum Commission at Ambedkar Bhawan between 2 pm and 6 pm. The Referendum Commission comprises Prof. Manoranjan Mohanty (Chair), Adv. Sanjay Parikh (Supreme Court), Adv. Ashok Agrawal (Delhi High Court), Dr. Harjeet Singh Bhatti (President, RDA, AIIMS), Prof. Madhu Prasad and Prof. G Haragopal. 
  4. PRESS CONFERENCE will be held at Ambedkar [email protected] pm. It will be addressed by many of the main speakers and AIFRTE leadership.

AIFRTE cordially invites you to interact with our Media Centre at the Parliament Street (10:00 am to 12:30 pm) & participate in the Press [email protected] pm at Ambedkar Bhawan and also to send your team for both print and audio-visual coverage on 18th Feb 2019 from 10.00 am onwards.
With Regards,
Prof Madhu Prasad, Presidium Member, AIFRTE & Dr. Vikas Gupta, Organising Secretary, AIFRTE
Contact: 9407549240, 7024148240; Email: [email protected]